Texas HB 48 Passes

Yesterday, Texas HB 48 passed the senate. It is now on its way to the governor for a signature. This means that there is no longer a requirement for renewal courses every five years to maintain a CHL.

HB 48 would eliminate the requirement for a CHL holder to demonstrate handgun proficiency by taking a continuing education course to renew the license. The bill would repeal Government Code sections 411.188 (c) and 411.188 (j), which require a continuing education course for CHL renewal and would specify how DPS should adopt rules for this course.

DPS would mail a notice of license expiration, a renewal application form, and an informational form to a CHL holder at least 60 days before the person’s license expired. To renew the license, a CHL holder would have to submit electronically or via an application for renewal, payment of the nonrefundable fee and the signed informational form describing pertinent state laws such as those related to deadly force. DPS would issue the renewed license not later than 45 days after receiving these materials. The director of DPS could adopt rules enabling CHL renewal after the license holder submitted these materials by mail or online.

Active and retired peace officers carrying a handgun under an extension of the CHL license would not need to take continuing education courses or examinations. The bill would repeal Government Code, sec. 411.199 (e). The director of DPS would adopt rules as soon as practicable after the effective date of this bill. The bill would apply only to applications submitted on or after the effective date.

The bill would take effect September 1, 2013.

http://www.legis.state.tx.us/BillLookup/BillStages.aspx?LegSess=83R&Bill=HB48

2 thoughts on “Texas HB 48 Passes

  1. I noted that one may renew BEFORE the CHL expires. What if they wait until AFTER the CHL expires, may they still renew or is it back to the initial course all over again. This ;may be an intentional or unintentional quirk in the newe law.

Leave a Reply