HB 2756 Action Alert

The Open Carry Bill, HB 2756, is currently pending in the House Calendar Committee. This bill needs a vote on the House floor by Thursday, May 12th.

Please contact your Representative today and urge them to push for a vote on this important legislation. Contact info for all Texas Legislators can be found at http://www.capitol.state.tx.us

Please also contact members of the House Calendar Committee and request their support for moving HB 2756 to the floor for a vote.

House Calendar Committee Members:
Todd.Hunter@house.state.tx.us
Dennis.Bonnen@house.state.tx.us
Dan.Branch@house.state.tx.us
Garnet.Coleman@house.state.tx.us
Byron.Cook@house.state.tx.us
Charlie.Geren@house.state.tx.us
James.Keffer@house.state.tx.us
Tracy.King@house.state.tx.us
Lois.Kolkhorst@house.state.tx.us
Eddie.Lucio@house.state.tx.us
Allan.Ritter@house.state.tx.us
Eddie.Rodriguez@house.state.tx.us
Burt.Solomons@house.state.tx.us
Vicki.Truitt@house.state.tx.us
John.Zerwas@house.state.tx.us

The House Calendar Committee can also be reached by phone at (512) 463-0758. If you do not reach someone, please leave a message. Remember to be respectful, but state that we need to bring HB 2756 to the floor for a vote.

Sample letter:

As you know, HB 2756 (allowing a CHL holder to openly carry a holstered weapon) is set to come up for vote on the House Floor. The bill is an important step in decriminalizing an otherwise constitutionally protected right – per the U.S. Constitution and the Texas Constitution. The 82nd Legislature now has the opportunity to make things right in voting favorably on this bill and bringing to fruition a law that would truly represent the will of the people. It is simply not good enough that our representatives in Austin promise to vote in favor of HB 2756 “…if the bill comes to the floor for vote….” Rather, I urge you and your colleagues to get behind this bill by pressing to get it on the House Calendar and then voting in favor of this legislation. Please take these important steps to represent the many thousands of people in Texas who are counting on you to do the right thing.

Respectfully yours,
[name]
[affiliations such as National Rifle Association, Gun Owners of America, Lone Star Citizens Defense League, Military experience, Police experience]